Art + Architecture | Weekend Berlin 2014

It's about stories and thoughts (Sir David Chipperfield)

Retrospective

The first-ever Art + Architecture | Weekend Berlin, which featured an art salon and corresponding gathering at the studio of artist Christian Hoischen and an art lunch at the offices of David Chipperfield Architects, was held on May 2-3, 2014. An overwhelming number of cultured guests (some 300 in total) took part in the scheduled activities.

That Friday evening, the jazz stylings of Desney Baily and the Helmut Bruger Trio got things moving at Artprojekt's offices at Giesebrechtstraße 20, which the group had cleared out and reconfigured for the event. Guests from Germany and around the world ate, drank, and chatted away into early hours of the morning while rubbing elbows with artists, architects, collectors, and other interesting characters from Berlin's cultural scene.

Chipperfield-Portrait

The visit to the studio of local artist Christian Hoischen, whose pursuits currently include overseeing the artistic direction of Palais Varnhagen, also drew considerable interest from a large number of attendees. The following Saturday then offered the perfect weather for lunch with David Chipperfield at the bistro and garden of his offices in Berlin. In a speech, the leading architect underscored how important private construction projects with sophisticated architecture are to inner cities while illustrating the notable features of Palais Varnhagen.

Christian Hoischen

Art + Architecture | Weekend Berlin 2014

Es geht um Geschichten und Gedanken (Sir David Chipperfield)

Rückblick

Am 2. und 3. Mai 2014 fand das 1. "Art + Architecture | Weekend Berlin" mit Art Salon, Art Together im Atelier des Künstlers Christian Hoischen und Art Lunch bei David Chipperfield Architects statt. Überwältigend viele Gäste folgten der Einladung, insgesamt nahmen rund 300 kulturaffine Menschen an dem Programm teil.

Zu den Jazzklängen von Desney Baily und dem Helmut Bruger Trio traf man sich zunächst am Freitagabend in dem für diesen Zweck aus- und umgeräumten Büro der Artprojekt Gruppe in der Giesebrechtstraße 20. Bis weit nach Mitternacht talkten, aßen, tranken und feierten die Gäste aus dem In- und Ausland und hatten Gelegenheit, mit Künstlern, Architekten, Sammlern und anderen interessanten Menschen aus der Berliner Kulturlandschaft zusammenzukommen.

Chipperfield-Portrait

Auch der Besuch bei dem Berliner Künstler Christian Hoischen, der unter anderem für die künstlerische Ausgestaltung des Palais Varnhagen verantwortlich ist, stieß auf großes Interesse und rege Teilnahme. Bei hervorragendem Wetter traf man sich dann Samstag zum Lunch mit David Chipperfield in seiner Berliner Dependance mit Bistro und Garten. Der Stararchitekt betonte in seiner Rede die Bedeutung architektonisch hochwertiger, privater Baumaßnahmen in den Innenstädten und erläuterte die Besonderheiten des Palais Varnhagens.

Christian Hoischen